top of page

It's Your Move!


"What's your memory of your first day at secondary school?

The towering Year-11s? The hundreds of people all round the place? The new teachers? The new buildings? Wondering how you'd find out where the toilet was? Whether you were a confident or a scared 11-year-old, chances are that you were at least a bit apprehensive about starting this new phase of your life. Research conducted by Scripture Union confirmed that the big change from primary to secondary school can be really stressful, as children come to terms with being the small fish in a much bigger pond. That's why Scripture Union developed It's Your Move, a brilliant book designed to help primary schools as they prepare their top year pupils for their move to secondary school. It's packed with wise advice and true stories of young people who have already taken that big step." (http://www.scriptureunion.org.uk/112817.id).


This year, we want as many Year-6's to have access to 'It's Your Move" as possible. It is a great resource, which gives opportunity for open discussions about the fears and excitement about going to secondary school. I have already delivered It's Your Move in one school, and I believe it was a great help to the pupils.It also gave them a chance to hear that God will be with them each step of the way.


"God, investigate my life; get all the facts firsthand. I’m an open book to you; even from a distance, you know what I’m thinking.You know when I leave and when I get back; I’m never out of your sight.You know everything I’m going to say before I start the first sentence.I look behind me and you’re there, then up ahead and you’re there, too— your reassuring presence, coming and going.This is too much, too wonderful— I can’t take it all in!" Psalm 139v1-6.


Please pray as we go into a number of schools, that we will help to address any fears pupils may have, develop relationships for when they move up in September and know that they are not alone.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page